Title

PoCSpec - Modular Spezialisations for Point-of-Care Medical Devices

BMWi-Logo

Summary

The networking of the many computer-controlled medical devices available in a modern operating room (OR) has been gaining in importance for years, because it is the only way to meet the clinical need for more safety, efficiency and ergonomics in the OR. A challenge so far is the networking of devices from different manufacturers. Here, the German research project “OR.NET – Secure Dynamic Networking in the Operating Room and Clinic”[MK1]  (2012-2016) laid important foundations in the form of a service-oriented communication protocol for the dynamic cross-vendor networking of medical devices, which is now part of the ISO/IEEE 11073 “Service-oriented Device Connectivity” series of standards, an internationally recognized standard. The IMD has significantly contributed to the development and standardization for the last years.

However, a problem in the use of the new standards so far is that manufacturers can model the network representation of similar devices differently, which complicates the integration into a system of networked medical devices as well as testing and approval of networked devices. This is where the project “PoCSpec – Modular Specializations for Point-of-Care Medical Devices”, funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, started in January 2019. The project will develop additions to the ISO/IEEE 11073 family of standards that specify the networking requirements for specific device categories, i.e. the scope, structure and significance of the data and services offered in the network as well as the behavior of the device at runtime, so that devices from different manufacturers can be uniformly monitored and controlled via the network. This will be implemented as an example for two particularly complex device categories: endoscopy and high-frequency surgery.

In order to be able to build on the widest possible consensus in the development of standards, a large number of manufacturers in the field of endoscopy and high-frequency surgery are involved as partners in the project and will contribute their know-how. The ultimate goal of the project is to achieve a higher level of interoperability and to enable the interchangeability of medical devices from different manufacturers on the fly. This will sustainably strengthen Germany’s outstanding international competitive position for medical devices.

Research grant

This project is supported by Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy on the basis of a decision by the German Bundestag under the grant number: 03TNH017C.

 

Project period

since 01.01.2019 

 

Partners

Apart from IMD, the partners of the project are the companies Aesculap, BOWA, embeX, Erbe Elektromedizin, Karl Storz, Olympus Winter & Ibe, Open Connections, Schölly Fiberoptic (associated) and steute Technologies (associated) as well as the Institute for Medical Informatics (IMI) of the University of Lübeck and the OFFIS - Institute for Information Technology from Oldenburg.

 

Team

Foto Martin Kasparick

Dipl.-Inf.
Martin Kasparick

E-Mail
Tel.: +49 381 498 7273
Raum: W1318

Foto Frank Golatowski

Dr.-Ing.
Frank Golatowski

E-Mail
Tel.: +49 381 498 7274
Raum: W1323

Foto Dirk Timmermann

Prof. Dr.-Ing.
Dirk Timmermann

E-Mail
Tel.: +49 381 498 7250
Raum: W1205

Links

Project homepage: www.pocspec.de

Titel

PoCSpec - Modular Spezialisations for Point-of-Care Medical Devices

BMWi-logo

Kurzbeschreibung

Die Vernetzung der vielen in einem modernen Operationssaal (OP) verfügbaren computergesteuerten Medizingeräte nimmt seit Jahren an Bedeutung zu, weil nur so der klinische Bedarf für mehr Sicherheit, Effizienz und Ergonomie im OP umgesetzt werden kann. Eine Herausforderung ist dabei bislang die Vernetzung von Geräten unterschiedlicher Hersteller miteinander. Hier hat das BMBF-Projekt „OR.NET – Sichere dynamische Vernetzung in OP-Saal und Klinik“ (2012-2016) wichtige Grundlagen in der Form eines serviceorientierten Kommunikationsprotokolls für die dynamische, herstellerübergreifende Vernetzung von Medizingeräten gelegt, welches inzwischen als Bestandteil der Normenreihe ISO/IEEE 11073 „Service-oriented Device Connectivity“ ein international anerkannter Standard ist. Das IMD war und ist maßgeblich an der Entwicklung und den Standardisierungsaktivitäten beteiligt.

Ein Problem im Einsatz der neuen Normen ist bislang jedoch noch, dass Hersteller die Netzwerkrepräsentation gleichartiger Geräte unterschiedlich modellieren können, was die Integration in ein System vernetzter Medizingeräte ebenso erschwert wie Test und Zulassung vernetzter Geräte. Hier setzt das im Januar 2019 gestartete, vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie geförderte Projekt, „PoCSpec – Modular Specialisations for Point-of-Care Medical Devices“ an: Das Projekt wird Ergänzungen zur ISO/IEEE 11073-Normenfamilie entwickeln, die für bestimmte Gerätekategorien die Vernetzungsanforderungen, also Umfang, Struktur und Bedeutung der im Netzwerk angebotenen Daten und Services sowie das Verhalten des Gerätes zur Laufzeit genau festlegen, sodass Geräte unterschiedlicher Hersteller über das Netzwerk einheitlich überwacht und angesteuert werden können. Dies soll beispielhaft für zwei besonders komplexe Gerätekategorien umgesetzt werden: Endoskopie und Hochfrequenzchirurgie.

Um bei der Entwicklung der Normen auf einem möglichst breiten Konsens aufbauen zu können, sind eine Vielzahl von Herstellern aus den Bereichen Endoskopie und Hochfrequenzchirurgie als Partner im Projekt engagiert und werden ihr Know-how einbringen. Ziel des Projekts ist es letztendlich, ein höheres Niveau der Interoperabilität zu erreichen und die Austauschbarkeit von Medizingeräten unterschiedlicher Hersteller im laufenden Betrieb zu ermöglichen. Dies stärkt nachhaltig die hervorragende internationale Wettbewerbsposition Deutschlands für Medizingeräte.

Förderung

Dieses Projekt wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie geförderte. (Förderkennzeichen: 03TNH017C)

Laufzeit

seit 01.01.2019 

Partner

Partner des Projekts sind neben dem IMD die Firmen Aesculap, BOWA, embeX, Erbe Elektromedizin, Karl Storz, Olympus Winter & Ibe und Open Connections sowie das Institut für Medizinische Informatik (IMI) der Universität zu Lübeck und das OFFIS – Institut für Informatik aus Oldenburg (Projektkoordinator). Des Weiteren sind die Firmen steute Technologies und SCHÖLLY FIBEROPTIC GmbH assoziierte Projektpartner.

Bearbeiter

Foto Martin Kasparick

Dipl.-Inf.
Martin Kasparick

E-Mail
Tel.: +49 381 498 7273
Raum: W1318

Foto Frank Golatowski

Dr.-Ing.
Frank Golatowski

E-Mail
Tel.: +49 381 498 7274
Raum: W1323

Foto Dirk Timmermann

Prof. Dr.-Ing.
Dirk Timmermann

E-Mail
Tel.: +49 381 498 7250
Raum: W1205

Links

Link zur Projekthomepage: www.pocspec.de